Knitting Supplies at Craftsy.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What do you prefer needle tatting or shuttle?

Default What do you prefer needle tatting or shuttle?

Firstly, I like to say hi to everyone, newbie here. I mostly sew and crochet but am always trying to find ways of making my sewing projects that much more unique and individual. I would love to add some tatted trim to things. (here's a link to my recent sewing projects http://www.flickr.com/photos/angeleyes88/sets/

I have to be honest I dabbled a little bit in tatting before my kids were born but wasn't really good at it. I never knew that the was even such things as needle tatting before last night. So am wondering if there really is that much of a difference between needle and shuttle tatting and which one do you prefer and why?

Also I'm a little confuse as to the forum set up. where the section to find resources to learn to tat?

Default Re: What do you prefer needle tatting or shuttle?

For learning to tat, check out YouTube for video; there are also online classes: search this site -- Georgia Seitz offers classes, I think. There are also "Learn to Tat" books / pamphlets out there--check online. If you can't find anything, post again and I'll find some links for you.

I do both needle and shuttle tatting: there's also hook tatting and tatting using a tapestry needle, not to mention finger tatting. And, there's hybrids like cro-tatting.

For fine threads I prefer the shuttle: for thicker threads I prefer the needle: for travelling I usually take the shuttle since it is plastic and I'm not taking the chance of having my tatting needle(s) taken from me.

There are differences between tatting methods, and some techniques are handier using one or the other: learn 'em all if you want, then you can pick and choose what you want to do.

Enjoy!