Knitting Supplies at Craftsy.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: benifits of Needle vs Shuttle tatting?

Question benifits of Needle vs Shuttle tatting?

I'm sure this has been discussed before... but...I have only shuttle tatted and know nothing about needle tatting. Some of the doilies that I see are needle tatted and I was wondering if they could be shuttle tatted or do I need to learn both methods? Is one easier than the other... are there things that can only be accomplished by one or the other method....? You can tell I'm a newbie, right... lol

Blog Entries

Default Re: benifits of Needle vs Shuttle tatting?

Most things that can be shuttle tatted can be needle tatted and visa versa. I do both and have yet to find a pattern that can't be done both ways. I am sure there may be a few out there, but I haven't found them yet.

Like Rachael, I do both and haven't found anything that can't be done with both needle and shuttle.
    Freelance Graphic Designer www.craftsuprint.com/carol-lepard
    Card Blog www.bycarolivy.blogspot.com
    Tatting Blog proudneedletatter.blogspot.com

Thanks for the reply's... Now for another kink... Which do 'you' prefer and why? Would it be worthwhile to learn both or should I just stick with what I know?

I visited your site Carol, and I love your bookmarks and the doilies ... where can I find patterns for them ?

Blog Entries

For me, I learned needle tatting just enough to do rings and chains you know so that if my shuttles are all busy with a project on them, I can needle tat too. Needle tat isn't too hard to learn, there isn't a flip to it like shuttle tatting. I don't prefer one over another, it is just what it is for me so I can tat with no hinderance.
    Try, try, and try again...until the out come is presentable at least.....gc

Thank you for the compliment IdahoCanuck. If you can tell me exactly which one you are interested in, I can give you links to the patterns.